Women’s Prize for Fiction Announces 2022 Shortlist

The Women’s Prize for Fiction – the greatest celebration of women’s creativity – today announces its 2022 Shortlist. Now in its 27th year, the Prize honours outstanding, ambitious, original  fiction written  in English by women from  anywhere in the world. This year’s shortlist incorporates a range of themes including belonging and identity; the power of nature; the burden of history; personal freedom; sisterhood; mental illness; ghosts; gender violence; and the opportunity for renewal. The novels also offer globe-spanning settings, from Antarctica to Montana, Cyprus to Trinidad.

The 2022 Shortlist titles are as follows (alphabetical by surname):


Lisa Allen-Agostini, The Bread the Devil Knead (Myriad Editions)

Louise Erdrich, The Sentence (Corsair)

Meg Mason, Sorrow and Bliss, (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)

Ruth Ozeki, The Book of Form and Emptiness (Canongate Books)

Elif Shafak, The Island of Missing Trees (Viking)

Maggie Shipstead, Great Circle (Doubleday)


This year’s shortlist has been selected by the Chair of Judges Mary Ann Sieghart and her judging panel: Lorraine Candy, award-winning journalist and editor; Dorothy Koomson, global bestselling novelist, journalist and podcaster; Anita Sethi, award-winning author and literary journalist; and Pandora Sykes, journalist, broadcaster and author.


Chair of judges and bestselling writer Mary Ann Sieghart says: “We were blessed with an extraordinarily high quality of submissions this year, which made whittling down the longlist from 16 to six particularly difficult. But the shortlist contains a wonderfully diverse range of stories, subjects, settings and authors, from the experience of a Native American woman in a haunted bookshop to an early female aviator in the Antarctic. One novel is narrated by a tree; another by a book. Some are laugh-out-loud funny, others tearful, and sometimes the two are combined in the same book. We judges have loved reading them all and we commend them to you as the best fiction written by women and published in the past year. Our only problem now will be to identify the winner out of these six brilliant novels.”


The winner of the 2022 Women’s Prize for Fiction will be awarded on Wednesday 15 June 2022 at an evening awards ceremony in central London. She will receive an anonymously endowed cheque for £30,000 and a limited-edition bronze figurine known as a ‘Bessie’, created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven. More information can be found here:www.womensprizeforfiction.co.uk


Set up in 1996 to celebrate and promote fiction by women to the widest range of readers possible, the Women’s Prize for Fiction is awarded for the best full-length novel of the year written by a woman and published in the UK between 1 April 2021 and 31 March 2022. Any woman writing in English – whatever her nationality, country of residence, age or novel’s subject matter – is eligible.


The Women’s Prize will be hosting a Virtual Shortlist Festival on Monday 23, Tuesday 24 and Wednesday 25 June, 7pm, featuring Live Q&As with the shortlisted authors. These events will be hosted by Kate Mosse, Founder Director of the Prize, and will present readings from well-known actors. Tickets can be bought via Eventbrite.


For more information or to request an interview with the judges or shortlisted authors, please contact Christian Lewis: Christian@womensprizeforfiction.co.uk or 07919324890. 


The Women's Prize Podcast

Tune into host Vick Hope and a line-up of incredible guests on our weekly podcast full of unmissable book recommendations.