Photo of Women's Prize sponsor production company Fremantle


  • Global TV production company Fremantle have been confirmed as a new headline sponsor for the Women’s Prize for Fiction from 2019
  • Fremantle join fellow sponsors NatWest and Baileys


Thursday 1st November 2018: The Women’s Prize for Fiction – one of the biggest international celebrations of women’s creativity in the world – today announces a new partner supporting the 2019 Prize.


The Prize is delighted to announce the addition of Fremantle to the family of partners for the 2019 Prize. The three partners are:


  • Baileys; the world’s bestselling cream liqueur, has been a longstanding sponsor of the Prize since 2013
  • Fremantle; one the largest creators, producers and distributors of scripted and unscripted content in the world
  • NatWest; one of the UK’s leading personal, private and business banks, part of the family of sponsors since 2018


Commenting on the announcement, Joanna Prior, Chair of the Women’s Prize for Fiction Board said, “We are delighted to welcome Fremantle to our family of sponsors for The Women’s Prize for Fiction, joining Baileys and NatWest. Fremantle shares our vision and mission to support and celebrate women’s creativity and their involvement helps to position the Prize and the books and authors it supports within the wider creative industries landscape.”


In May 2017, the Prize announced it would be adopting a new sponsorship model from 2018 that would see the Prize supported by a family of sponsors, a group of leading brands and businesses from different sectors. Fremantle join NatWest and Baileys to form the 2019 Prize partners.


Sarah Doole, Director, Global Drama, Fremantle said: “At Fremantle we are passionate about developing female storytellers in all their forms. We are incredibly proud of this opportunity to support and champion creativity in women around the world.”


The Women’s Prize for Fiction is the UK’s only annual book award for writing by women celebrating excellence, originality and accessibility. Established in 1996, to celebrate and promote international fiction written by women in English to the widest range of readers possible, the Prize is awarded for the best novel of the year written by a woman. Any woman writing in English – whatever her nationality, country of residence, age or subject matter – is eligible. 2019 marks the 24th year of the Prize.


The 2019 Women’s Prize for Fiction will be awarded on June 5th 2019 at an awards ceremony in central London. The winner will receive an anonymously endowed cheque for £30,000 and a limited-edition bronze figurine known as a ‘Bessie’, created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven.


The Women’s Prize for Fiction is in the process of becoming a charity and is now known as the Women’s Prize Trust. Its new and growing patrons scheme offers two levels of involvement, Patrons for a £1000 donation, and Prize Circle Patrons for a 3-year commitment of £5000 a-year.


Key dates for the 2019 Women’s Prize for Fiction:

  • Friday 8th March 2019 – longlist announcement
  • Monday 29th April – shortlist announcement
  • Tuesday 30th April – Friday 3rd May (exact dates TBC) – WPFF @ the Baileys Book Bar
  • Monday 3rd June – shortlist readings event
  • Wednesday 5th June – winner announcement and awards ceremony


Previous winners are Kamila Shamsie for Home Fire (2018), Naomi Alderman for The Power (2017), Lisa McInerney for The Glorious Heresies (2016), Ali Smith for How to be Both (2015), Eimear McBride for A Girl is a Half-formed Thing (2014), A.M. Homes for May We Be Forgiven (2013), Madeline Miller for The Song of Achilles (2012), Téa Obreht for The Tiger’s Wife (2011), Barbara Kingsolver for The Lacuna (2010), Marilynne Robinson for Home (2009), Rose Tremain for The Road Home (2008), Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie for Half of a Yellow Sun (2007), Zadie Smith for On Beauty (2006), Lionel Shriver for We Need to Talk About Kevin(2005), Andrea Levy for Small Island (2004), Valerie Martin for Property (2003), Ann Patchett for Bel Canto (2002), Kate Grenville for The Idea of Perfection (2001), Linda Grant for When I Lived in Modern Times (2000), Suzanne Berne for A Crime in the Neighbourhood (1999), Carol Shields for Larry’s Party (1998), Anne Michaels for Fugitive Pieces (1997), and Helen Dunmore for A Spell of Winter (1996).


For the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2019, novels must be published in the UK between 1st April 2018 and 31st March 2019. The Prize is administered by the Society of Authors.

The Women's Prize Podcast

Tune into host Vick Hope and a line-up of incredible guests on our weekly podcast full of unmissable book recommendations.