The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction invited Latitude Festival goers to vote at for their favourite books by a woman, at ‘The Tree of Stories’ whilst sipping Baileys iced coffees from the Baileys coffee van nearby. This was the first time the Baileys Prize had participated at the festival, with a series of packed events chaired by Baileys Prize co-founder and bestselling novelist Kate Mosse.

  • Latitude festival goers cast their vote at ‘The Tree of Stories’ in the Faraway Forest
  • Top 20 books by a woman include Kate Mosse, Emily Bronte, Harper Lee and Zadie Smith

Top 20 books by a woman (as voted by Latitude Festival 2016 goers):

Beloved – Toni Morrison

On Beauty – Zadie Smith

Labyrinth – Kate Mosse

A Wizard of Earthsea – Ursula K. Le Guin

Wuthering Heights – Emily Brontë

Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen

The God of Small Things – Arundhati Roy

Half of a Yellow Sun – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings – Maya Angelou

How to be a Woman – Caitlin Moran

The Lacuna – Barbara Kingsolver

The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins

The Color Purple – Alice Walker

The Heart is a Lonely Hunter – Carson McCullers

The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold

The Goldfinch – Donna Tartt

The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood

We Need to Talk About Kevin – Lionel Shriver

House of Spirits – Isabel Allende

To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

The Baileys Prize events at Latitude included: co-founder bestselling novelist Kate Mosse in conversation with 2016 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction winner Lisa McInerney; an exceptional panel of inspiring women discussing the topic of Women and Power, including comedian and writer Sara Pascoe, author Naomi Alderman, award-winning campaigner Leyla Hussein, and Amy Annette; and actors James Rastall and Tori Allen-Martin read from the six books shortlisted for the 2016 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction in their own inimitable style.

For full details of the Baileys Prize at Latitude events please go to

For any queries or additional images, please contact Ashley Baugh at Midas PR

Stay in the loop by following the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram, or tweet us at #BaileysPrize to join the conversation.

Notes to editors

BAILEYS Women’s Prize for Fiction

  • In June 2013, the Prize announced a new partnership with Baileys, the world’s first cream liqueur, and is now known as the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction.
  • The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction was known as the Orange Prize for Fiction between 1996 and 2012.
  • The Prize’s patrons are; Dame Gillian Beer DBE, Rosie Boycott, Liz Calder, Shami Chakrabarti CBE, Helen Fraser CBE, Fi Glover, Daisy Goodwin, Muriel Gray, Bettany Hughes, Paula Kahn, Martha Kearney, Jude Kelly OBE, Helena Kennedy, Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws QC FRSA, Kirsty Lang, Sue MacGregor CBE, Sheena McDonald, Dame Jenni Murray DBE, Penny Perrick, Dame Gail Rebuck DBE, Miranda Richardson, Gillian Shephard, Baroness Shephard of Northwold, Ahdaf Soueif, Sandi Toksvig, Polly Toynbee, Joanna Trollope OBE and Lola Young, Baroness Young of Hornsey OBE.
  • The Prize’s board comprises of Joanna Prior (Chair), Felicity Blunt (Company Secretary), Annie Coleman, Hannah Griffiths, Harriet Hastings (Managing Director), Karen Jones CBE, Louise Jury, Martha Lane Fox CBE, Nicola Mendelsohn CBE and Arzu Tahsin. Together they are responsible for the overall management and direction of the Prize and the sponsorship arrangements.
  • The Prize’s Advisory Council comprises of Kate Mosse OBE, Clare Alexander, Jane Gregory, Susan Sandon and Carole Welch.
  • In November 2015, a celebration marking the 20th anniversary of the Women’s Prize for Fiction saw Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, winner of the Prize in 2007, named ‘Best of the Best’ of the winners of the second decade of the Prize.
  • Andrea Levy was named ‘Best of the Best’ of the first decade of the Prize in 2005 for her novel Small Island, which won the Women’s Prize in 2004.


BAILEYS and the Prize share a mutual purpose, to celebrate the best female storytellers and share the pleasure of their writing with ever-wider audiences.

BAILEYS was the world’s first cream liqueur, the perfect balancing act of aged Irish whiskey woven with fresh Irish dairy cream, a hint of cocoa and vanilla. It’s also the world’s biggest seller, with over 82 million bottles sold worldwide each year. Every minute of every day over 2000 people around the world are enjoying a BAILEYS.

The BAILEYS word and associated logos are trademarks.

About Diageo:

Diageo is a global leader in beverage alcohol with an outstanding collection of brands including Johnnie Walker, Crown Royal, JεB, Buchanan’s and Windsor whiskies, Smirnoff, Cîroc and Ketel One vodkas, Captain Morgan, Baileys, Don Julio, Tanqueray and Guinness.

Diageo is listed on both the London Stock Exchange (DGE) and the New York Stock Exchange (DEO) and our products are sold in more than 180 countries around the world. For more information about Diageo, our people, our brands, and performance, visit us at Visit Diageo’s global responsible drinking resource,, for information, initiatives, and ways to share best practice.

Celebrating life, every day, everywhere.

The Women's Prize Podcast

Tune into host Vick Hope and a line-up of incredible guests on our weekly podcast full of unmissable book recommendations.