Your Futures Winner

We are over the moon to announce that the Women’s Prize x Good Housekeeping Futures award winner, as voted by you, is Sunday Times bestselling novelist Stacey Halls!

“It’s such a huge privilege to win anything that is voted by readers”

Stacey was announced as the winner at a special event at Good Housekeeping Live. She commented: “It’s such a huge privilege to win anything that is voted by readers, as readers are the reason we write in the first place, but to be awarded a prize of this prestige is a dream come true. I’ve long been a fan of the Women’s Prize and Good Housekeeping, and to be named as a writer of the future – particularly when I write about the past – is a real thrill. As brands they have huge respect and authority, and I can only hope some of their staying power rubs off on me.”

To celebrate 100 years of Good Housekeeping, we joined forces to create The Women’s Prize x Good Housekeeping Futures award. A prize that celebrated the writing stars of the future. A panel of judges including Women’s Prize Co-Founder Director Kate Mosse, broadcaster Naga Munchetty, award-winning author Sara CollinsGood Housekeeping editor-in-chief Gaby Huddart and Good Housekeeping books editor Joanne Finney, were tasked with finding the most promising female authors under the age of 35.  

Kate Mosse, Novelist and Founder Director of the Women’s Prize for Fiction said: “Stacey Halls is a writer of great originality, great imagination and great sense of place. Atmospheric, intelligent, accessible, every novel is worth reading, then reading again and again.”

Gaby Huddart, Editor-in-Chief of Good Housekeeping, says: “In Good Housekeeping’s 100th year, we felt it was important to celebrate our past but also to look forward with excitement to the future and to encourage the next generation of women to excel in their respective spheres. That is why I was so delighted to partner with the Women’s Prize For Fiction with the Futures initiative. The shortlist bursts with brilliant writers, who have engaged and entertained the Good Housekeeping audience this year – all 10 of them deserve recognition for what they’ve achieved so far and it’ll be so exciting to see what they write next. In Stacey, Good Housekeeping readers have picked a very worthy winner of this prize and I’ve no doubt she’s going to be one of the UK’s greats of writing,” 

Stacey has written three books, Mrs England, The Foundling and her debut novel The Familiars.

Each of the ten writers was considered by the judging panel to show tremendous promise, regardless of how many previous novels they had published. The panel also agreed that they represented, as Chair of the Panel Kate Mosse put it, “some of the leading voices in exciting, boundary-changing, authentic, inspirational, heartbreaking fiction writing. In other words, the classics of tomorrow for today.”

The Futures 10 authors were:

  • Jessica Andrews for Saltwater 
  • Natasha Brown for Assembly 
  • Candice Carty-Williams for Queenie 
  • Eliza Clark for Boy Parts 
  • Abigail Dean for Girl A
  • Naoise Dolan for Exciting Times 
  • Stacey Halls for Mrs England 
  • Sairish Hussain for The Family Tree 
  • Daisy Johnson for Sisters 
  • Chibundu Onuzo for Sankofa

Thank you to everyone who voted for their Futures winner. How many of the Futures 10 novels have you read? Find out more about all the authors here.

The Women's Prize Podcast

Tune into host Vick Hope and a line-up of incredible guests on our weekly podcast full of unmissable book recommendations.