The 2016 shortlist is revealed

Now in its twenty first year, the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women from throughout the world. We’re delighted to announce this year’s Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction shortlist, featuring one previously shortlisted author and three debut novels.

“After a long and often passionate debate we are proud to present our 2016 shortlist,” said Margaret Mountford, Chair of judges. “Our choices reflect a really diverse mix of brilliant writing from new and established authors around the world and we hope that everyone will find much to enjoy in them.”

The shortlisted books are as follows:

Cynthia Bond: Ruby
Anne Enright: The Green Road
Lisa McInerney: The Glorious Heresies
Elizabeth McKenzie: The Portable Veblen
Hannah Rothschild: The Improbability of Love
Hanya Yanagihara: A Little Life

To stay in the loop about this year’s Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction and for a chance to win the shortlist, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

The Women's Prize Podcast

Tune into host Vick Hope and a line-up of incredible guests on our weekly podcast full of unmissable book recommendations.