Baileys Women’s prize for Fiction announce 2015 shortlist


The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction – the UK’s only annual book award for fiction written by a woman – is delighted to announce the 2015 shortlist.

This year’s six shortlisted books were whittled down from a twenty-strong longlist, which can be found here. This year’s selection includes five previously shortlisted authors and one debut novelist.

Chair of judges, Shami Chakrabarti, says of the shortlist, “You’ve heard of fantasy football? Well, short-listing for the 2015 Baileys Prize was the fantasy book club of a lifetime.”

“The novels we shared and the shortlist we ultimately honour form a body of great women’s writing to entertain and inspire for many years to come.”

The judges must now choose an overall winner, to be announced at an awards ceremony in The Clore Ballroom, Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre, on 3rd June 2015.

Visit our Twitter and Facebook pages for your chance to win copies of the shortlisted books and daily updates on the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction.

Get involved and join the conversation @BaileysPrize using #3wordreview and share your three word reviews of this year’s shortlisted books.

Baileys books-214_website_books


The 2015 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction shortlist is:

Rachel Cusk – Outline

Laline Paull – The Bees

Kamila Shamsie – A God in Every Stone

Ali Smith – How To Be Both

Anne Tyler – A Spool of Blue Thread

Sarah Waters – The Paying Guests

The Women's Prize Podcast

Tune into host Vick Hope and a line-up of incredible guests on our weekly podcast full of unmissable book recommendations.