Announcing the 2023 Women’s Prize longlist!

Now in its twenty-eighth year, the Women’s Prize for Fiction shines a spotlight on outstanding, ambitious, original fiction written in English by women from anywhere in the world. We are thrilled to introduce the 2023 longlist –16 dazzling novels to discover, with new books from former Women’s Prize champions sitting alongside a host of debuts and rising stars.

Globe-spanning locations range from Renaissance Italy, rural India, the Siege of Sarajevo, Northern Ireland during The Troubles and opioid-infested Virginia, to an imaginary kingdom ruled by animals, a hallucinatory old cinema and an underwater world populated with extraordinary creatures.

“There is something here for all readers!”

Chair of judges, broadcaster and writer Louise Minchin said: ‘This year’s longlist is a glorious celebration of the boundless imagination and creative ambition of women writers over the past year. Every one of these 16 books is excellent and original in its own individual way; they all offer fresh perspectives on history and humanity, exploring hard truths with empathy, sensitivity, directness, and sometimes infectious humour. There is something here for all readers! It has truly been a life-enhancing experience to judge the Women’s Prize for Fiction longlist this year, and we are looking forward to celebrating these voices that need to be heard.’

Louise Minchin is joined on the judging panel by novelist Rachel Joyce; journalist, podcaster and writer Bella Mackie; novelist and short story writer Irenosen Okojie; and Tulip Siddiq, Member of Parliament.

You can watch the announcement with all five of our fantastic judges and find out about the longlisted books below:

The 16 longlisted books are as follows:

Black Butterflies by Priscilla Morris

Children of Paradise by Camilla Grudova

Cursed Bread by Sophie Mackintosh

Demon Copperhead by Barbara Kingsolver

Fire Rush by Jacqueline Crooks

Glory by NoViolet Bulawayo

Homesick by Jennifer Croft

I’m a Fan by Sheena Patel

Memphis by Tara M. Stringfellow

Pod by Laline Paull

Stone Blind by Natalie Haynes

The Bandit Queens by Parini Shroff

The Dog of the North by Elizabeth McKenzie

The Marriage Portrait by Maggie O’Farrell

Trespasses by Louise Kennedy 

Wandering Souls by Cecile Pin

Congratulations to all 16 longlisted authors!

The judging panel will now whittle these sixteen books down to a shortlist of six novels, announced on April 26th. The winner of the 2023 Women’s Prize for Fiction will be announced on 14th June.

Which will you read first? Join in the conversation on your social media platform of choice as we discuss these brilliant books.

The Women's Prize Podcast

Tune into host Vick Hope and a line-up of incredible guests on our weekly podcast full of unmissable book recommendations.